[rev_slider alias=”introduction” /]

Today, the headquarters of 1 (German/Netherlands) Corps is one of NATO’s High Readiness Force (Land) Headquarters. It is based in the German city of Münster. Back in 1995, on the 30th of August, the Corps was inaugurated as an amalgamation of 1 German Corps and 1 Netherlands Corps.

Since 2002, additional nations signed a Memorandum of Understanding, thus transforming the binational Corps into a multinational Corps HQ. As a NATO international military HQ, the Paris Protocol and the subsequent agreements apply to the Corps HQ.

In November 2002, the Corps headquarters (HQ) received the High Readiness Force (HRF) status after successfully passing the Final Operational Capability Check. This means that 1 (German/Netherlands) Corps provides flexibility for conducting missions and describes the availability of allied forces to NATO commanders.

Shortly thereafter, the Corps assumed its responsibilities as a Land Component Command (LCC) for the new NATO Response Force (NRF), comprising land units capable of being deployed quickly on operations wherever needed.

Currently 1 (German/Netherlands) Corps consists of twelve nations: Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom and United States.



HQ 1 (German/Netherlands) Corps not only has the ability to conduct high intensity operations, crisis management and peace support operations.

It is also possible to be called upon to conduct humanitarian and other relief missions. These can be conducted in or outside NATO’s territory.